What are the Standards?

It is important to understand that state health education standards does not equal curriculum.  Instead, health education standards lead to good curriculum by providing a framework to evaluate what is taught and how it is taught in the classroom.  Ultimately, the curriculum content is still a local decision.

What is Academic Content Standards?

The Ohio Department of Education defines academic content standards as the knowledge and skills that students should attain, often called the “what” of “what students should know and be able to do.” They indicate the ways of thinking, working, communicating, reasoning and investigating, and important and enduring ideas, concepts, issues, dilemmas and knowledge essential to the discipline.

This should not be confused with the actual curriculum, which is left to local decision making within the school district.

What are the National Content Standards?

The National Health Education Content Standards provide 8 categories of standards that build a framework for quality health education.  The National Health Education Standards are available online for any school to review and adopt.

The 8 standards* include:

1.  Students will learn how healthy behaviors affect personal health.  For example, students will be able to describe the relationship between healthy foods and a healthy body.

2.  Students will learn how peers, media, family, technology and culture influence their health behaviors.  For example, students will learn the impact of video gaming on their physical activity.

3.  Students will learn how to access new information on health that is valid and credible.  This could be through the internet, adults or professionals.

4. Students learn how to communicate health decisions that enhance their health or avoiding bad decisions.  For example, they will learn how to communicate their decision to not eat junk food.

5.  Students learn decision making skills.  This is another life skill building standard. 

6.  Students learn the use of goal setting.  For example, they may decide to eat a healthy breakfast every day. 

7. Students practice positive health behaviors.  Great examples are good hand washing or brushing their teeth. 

8.  Students learn how to advocate for healthy behaviors in their family and community.

*Examples are used to illustrate.  The standards do not include any specific content.

Have other questions about health education standards?  Let us know!


1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] What are Health Education Standards? […]

Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: